Veganism is a way of living that attempts to exclude all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty, be it for food or any other purpose.

For this reason, vegans avoid eating foods of animal origin, such as:

1. Meat: Beef, lamb, pork, veal, horse, organ meat, wild meat, etc.
2. Poultry: Chicken, turkey, goose, duck, quail, etc.
3. Fish and seafood: All types of fish, anchovies, shrimp, squid, scallops, calamari, mussels, crab, lobster and fish sauce.
4. Dairy: Milk, yogurt, cheese, butter, cream, ice cream, etc.
5. Eggs: From chickens, quails, ostriches and fish.
6. Bee products: Honey, bee pollen, royal jelly, etc.
7. Certain additives: Several food additives can be derived from animal products. Examples include E120, E322, E422, E 471, E542, E631, E901 and E904.
8. Cochineal or carmine: Ground cochineal scale insects are used to make carmine, a natural dye used to give a red color to many food products.
9. Gelatin: This thickening agent comes from the skin, bones and connective tissues of cows and pigs.
10. Isinglass: This gelatin-like substance is derived from fish bladders. Its often used in the making of beer or wine.
11. Natural flavorings: Some of these ingredients are animal-based. One example is castoreum, a food flavoring that comes from the secretions of beavers anal scent glands
12. Omega-3 fatty acids: Many products that are enriched with omega-3s are not vegan, since most omega-3s come from fish. Omega-3s derived from algae are vegan alternatives.
13. Shellac: This is a substance secreted by the female lac insect. Its sometimes used to make a food glaze for candy or a wax coating for fresh produce.
14. Vitamin D3: Most vitamin D3 is derived from fish oil or the lanolin found in sheeps wool. Vitamin D2 and D3 from lichen are vegan alternatives.
15. Dairy ingredients: Whey, casein and lactose are all derived from dairy.

These ingredients and additives can be found in a wide variety of different processed foods. It is very important that you check ingredients lists carefully.